Workers' compensation is a type of insurance your employer in Florida most likely carries. The law requires most employers to have this insurance which offers protection if you or any other employee is injured while on the job. You need to meet certain requirements and follow a specific procedure to ensure you qualify for benefits.
According to the Florida Department of Financial Services, you only qualify for workers' compensation if you receive an injury while you are at work and doing work duties. This is important because if your injury occurs when you are doing something outside the course of your job duties, you may not qualify.
You also must report your injury within 30 days. If your injury is something that happens over a prolonged period, then you have 30 days from when you first discover the injury to report it. You have to file a claim within two years after you report the injury. If you do not report or make a claim within these time limits, you may have your benefits denied.
You have to stay in contact with your employer throughout the process of filing your claim. Also, if you receive a request for information or documentation, you need to respond as soon as possible. You must also only make true statements. If you lie, you could face fraud charges.
If the workers' compensation insurer approves your claim, you could get money to pay for lost wages and your medical expenses. This information is for education. It is not legal advice.